Mathematics

MATHEMATICS DEPARTMENT

Rakesh Nand

HoF Mathematics

email:  nandr@faircol.school.nz

 

Madhima Anderson

Mathematics Teacher

email:  andersonm@faircol.school.nz

Roger Campkin

Mathematics

email:  campkinr@faircol.school.nz

 

Daya Nand

Mathematics Teacher

email:  nandd@faircol.school.nz

Kathryn Ross

Mathematics

email:  rosska@faircol.school.nz

 

Martin Tsang

Mathematics Teacher

email: tsangm@faircol.school.nz

Karina Tupaea

Mathematics Teacher

email:  tupaeak@faircol.school.nz

 

Maxine Te Rongomau

Mathematics Teacher

email:  terongomaum@faircol.school.nz

Partnerships

Mathematics students at Fairfield College have a great opportunity to be involved with forging new pathways and educational opportunities.  This year we are involved in two first time New Zealand partnerships.

SSEP

The Mathematics Faculty at Fairfield College is excited to be chosen to be working with Smart Waikato on SSEP, Secondary School Employer Partnership Pilot. This project looks at curriculum development making learning more relevant to the needs of employment. Connecting with business partners will allow our students to have experiences with businesses and employers and hopefully see the relevance of their learning and impress on them the need to stay connected to their learning as they will be able to see a clearer line of sight between their learning at school and the post-secondary destination that they wish to pursue.

 

Integrated Pathways Programme

This is year one of a three year programme where the students are at Wintec for two days a week and at school for three days.  While at school the students spend quite a bit of time doing Engineering Science.  In Engineering Science, the students are exposed to Mathematics and Physics that are related to Engineering.

Main Career Areas

Mathematician, Statistician, Medicine, Engineering, Agriculture, Computer Science, Business Management, Scientist, Builder, Pilot and Teaching

Competitions

Australian Maths Competition

Waikato Maths Competition

FAIRFIELD COLLEGE